PAST EVENT: ACTA 2015 International Symposium


The ACTA2015 Symposium was held between the 7th - 10th October 2015 at the Hilton Hotel, Sydney.  The Symposium brought together the largest ever multi-disciplinary, cross-specialty faculty of invited international and national speakers to present at an Australian meeting solely dedicated to improving the role, value and conduct of clinical trials.  

Across four packed days the ACTA 2015 program addressed global trends towards embedding clinical trials in clinical care, challenges in trial design and conduct, maximising the value of clinical registries and improving public awareness and consumer involvement in clinical research. 

More than 500 leading clinical researchers and health and research policymakers from around Australia participated in what was a fantastic melting pot of expertise, innovation, vision and enthusiasm. We extend our sincere thanks to all who contributed to make this meeting such a resounding success.


"It was fantastic; one of the best conferences I've attended - I can't emphasise enough the quality of the international speakers. The national speakers were also of an outstanding calibre too..."

ACTA 2015 Delegate


ACTA 2015 presentations

Copies of available presentations from the ACTA 2015 Symposium can be viewed via the official ACTA 2015 website.


thank you to our speakers...

Invited International Speakers

  1. Professor Donald Berry, Professor of Biostatistics, Univ of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
  2. Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer, UK (appeared by Video)
  3. Professor Richard Horton, Editor in Chief, The Lancet
  4. Ms Susan Marlin, President and CEO Clinical Trials Ontario
  5. Professor Kathy Rowan, Director of Scientific & Strategic Development, Intensive Care National Audit & Research Centre (ICNARC)
  6. Dr Joe Selby, Executive Director, Patient Centred Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) USA
  7. Professor Tom Walley CBE, Director of the NIHR HTA Programme, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at Liverpool University, Consultant Physician at Royal Liverpool University Hospital.

Invited National Speakers

  1. Dr Martin Cross, Chairman of Medicines Australia
  2. Prof Anne Kelso, NHMRC CEO
  3. Prof Chris Baggoley, Chief Medical Officer of the Department of Health
  4. Dr Saraid Billiards, Director, Research Grants, NHMRC
  5. A/Prof Laima Brazionis, Director, TEAMSnet
  6. Prof Derek Chew, Regional Director of Cardiology, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network
  7. Mr James Cokayne, Research Ethics and Governance Unit, NSW OHMR
  8. Prof Caroline Crowther, Professor of Maternal and Perinatal Health, The Liggins Institute, University of Auckland
  9. Ms Melinda Cruz, CEO Miracle Babies Foundation
  10. Prof Geoffrey Donnan AO, Director, The Florey Institute for Neurosciences and Mental Health
  11. A/Prof Adam Elshaug, Director, Value in Healthcare Division, Menzies Centre for Health Policy, University of Sydney
  12. A/Prof Sue Evans, Head, Centre of Research Excellence in Patient Safety, SPHPM, Monash University
  13. Prof Andrew Forbes, Head of Biostatistics, SPHPM, Monash University
  14. Prof John Forbes AM, Director of Research, Australian and New Zealand Breast Cancer Trials Group
  15. Prof Val Gebski, Head of Biostatistics, NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre
  16. Dr Suzanne Hasthorpe, Manager, Coordinating Officer for Clinical Trials, Victorian Department of Health
  17. Prof Ian Hickie AM, Co-Director, Health and Policy, Brain and Mind Centre
  18. Prof David Howells, The Florey Institute for Neurosciences and Mental Health
  19. Mr Tim James, CEO Medicines Australia
  20. Mr Mitch Kirkman, Development Quality Assurance Manager, Novartis
  21. Prof Paul Komesaroff, Director, Centre for Ethics, Monash University
  22. Dr Gordon McGurk, Director, Clinical Trials Section, NHMRC
  23. Prof John McNeil AM, Head, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
  24. A/Prof Jodie McVernon, Head, Modeling and Simulation, Centre for Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health
  25. Prof Ben Mol, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Adelaide
  26. Prof Peter Morris, Professor of Paediatrics, Menzies School of Health Research
  27. Prof Mark Nelson, Professor and Chair, General Practice, University of Tasmania
  28. Prof Stephen Nicholls, Deputy Director, SAHMRI
  29. Prof Vlado Perkovic, Executive Director, George Institute for Global Health Australia and George Clinical
  30. Prof Sally Redman AO, CEO, Sax Institute
  31. Ms Samantha Robertson, Executive Director, Evidence, Advice and Governance, NHMRC
  32. A/Prof Clare Scott, Medical Oncologist and Laboratory Head, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
  33. Prof David Thomas, Head, Cancer Division, Garvan Institute of Medical Research
  34. Prof Colin Thompson, Professor of Law and Academic Leader for Health Law and Ethics, Graduate School of Medicine, University of Wollongong
  35. Prof Steve Webb, Senior Staff Specialist in Intensive Care, Royal Perth Hospital & Clinical Professor, University of Western Australia and Monash University
  36. Prof Steve Wesselingh, Executive Director, SAHMRI
  37. Prof Ingrid Winship, Director of Research, Melbourne Health and University of Melbourne
  38. Prof John Zalcberg OAM, Professor of Cancer Research, School of Public & Preventative Medicine, Monash University


and thank you to our sponsors and partners


Principle Partner


Major Supporter





Major Partner



Gold Partners



Bronze Partners








Symposium Sponsors