Registries Special Interest Group

Strengthening ACTA’s support for registries and enabling engagement between registries and the clinical trials community

The Clinical Quality Registries Special Interest Group is Co-Chaired by Prof Stephen McDonald, ANZDATA Registry executive and renal physician, and Prof Susannah Ahern, Head, Clinical Outcomes data Reporting and Research Program (CORRP), and Principal Investigator for a number of Registries at Monash University.


To support and enhance a community of practice for Clinical Quality Registries in Australia.

Our purpose

  • Support the professional development needs of the CQR sector
  • Explore continuous improvement opportunities and drive best practice to develop profile of registry science
  • Provide a forum for promotion and advocacy of CQRs
  • Develop a collegial, collaborative community of CQR experts

12 October 2022
CQR SIG webinar – Evidence and approaches to the health economic evaluation of clinical quality registries.
Presented by: Prof Danny Liew and Dr Ella Zomer
Download the slide deck – Prof Danny Liew
Download the slide deck – Dr Ella Zomer


New paper
Realising the potential: leveraging clinical quality registries for real world clinical research
Med J Aust 2022; 216 (6): . || doi: 10.5694/mja2.51443
View online at MJA
Download a PDF

20 July 2022
CQR SIG webinar – Data Availability and Transparency (Consequential Amendments) Act 2020
Presented by: Dr Phillip Gould
Download the slide deck


April 2022
An introduction to the Norwegian Registry for Spine Surgery (NORspine) – a well-established, mature registry set up in 2007.
Presented by: Prof Tor Ingebrigtsen from the Norwegian Registry for Spine Surgery
Presented at: Monash University
View a webinar recording

Group Leadership

  • Prof Stephen McDonald
  • Prof Susannah Ahern

Board Sponsors

  • Prof John Zalcberg
  • Ms Leonie Wilcox