Inaugural Emerging Leader Investigator Awards

Topics:ACTA Members

Congratulations to our inaugural Emerging Leader Investigator Award winners who were announced at the 2021 ACTA ASM. These awards are a great opportunity to showcase new leaders across the sector, and we are incredibly proud to highlight our three winners:

Dr Sweekriti Sharma - Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, The University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District

Sweekriti’s study aimed to determine the effect of a waiting room communication strategy to increase awareness of potential harms of unnecessary imaging for low back pain on lumbar imaging rates in the emergency department.

A/Prof Andrea Viecelli - The Australasian Kidney Trials Network, Centre for Health Services Research

A/Prof Viecelli’s study aimed to improve the relevance, efficiency and value of nephrology clinical trials by implementing a range of approaches to engage consumers across all stages of trial conduct.

Andrea was also awarded the People’s Choice Award during the ACTA ASM.

Ms Rachel Nelligan - Centre for Health, Exercise and Sports Medicine, The University of Melbourne.

Ms Nelligan’s study aimed to evaluate the effects of self-directed web-based strengthening exercise and physical activity supported by automated, personalised behaviour change SMS for people with knee osteoarthritis.

Congratulations Sweekriti, Andrea and Rachel. If you registered for the 2021 ACTA ASM , you can watch the winner presentation recordings via the online platform.

A/Prof Andrea Viecelli presents during the 2021 ACTA ASM