Clinical Trials 2020: National Tribute and Award Ceremony

The ACTA Trial of the Year Awards were established in 2016 and has been traditionally celebrated in International Clinical Trials day in May, as part of a National Tribute and Awards Ceremony. In 2020, the awards were delayed due to COVID-19, and are instead being presented as part of the opening of the Summit.

The awards honour the remarkable Australians who advance our health system by designing, conducting or participating in ground-breaking clinical trials, and promote the importance of clinical trials and the expertise and complexity of work involved. Trials considered for the award are collaboratively developed, multicentre, investigator-driven randomised controlled trials that were designed to improve patient-centred outcomes or healthcare delivery.

In 2020, eleven applications were received for the main Trial of the Year Award, as below. There are currently three main awards and we aim to add further awards in 2021, to recognise industry collaboration and clinical quality registries.

The 2020 ACTA Trial of the Year, ACTA STInG Excellence in Trial Statistics Award and the ACTA Consumer Involvement Awards, will be announced at the the ACTA Summit 2020 on 1 December, 2020, and we hope you will join us.

Registration for the Awards Ceremony and Summit and the live stream of the ceremony has now closed.

Watch the official opening of the 2020 ACTA Summit: Minister’s Address


We are very grateful to the continued support of our event sponsors.

  • Gold Sponsors
    • NSW Office for Health and Medical Research
    • Bellberry Limited
  • Clinical Trials 2020: National Tribute and Awards Ceremony Sponsor
    • Medicines Australia
  • Session Sponsor
    • MTPConnect
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Summit2020-Sponsors.png

Latest Resources

Latest Events